Back to Blog
Comparisons

Connecteam Alternative for Electrical Contractors: A Buyer's Guide Built Around the T&M Invoice

Connecteam is a broad employee-management app. An electrical sub billing T&M needs hours that come with a plain description of the work. This guide puts Connecteam next to QuickBooks Time, Clockify, and a no-cost spreadsheet method, using each vendor's own pages as of October 2026.

FieldTimesheet TeamProduct Team
October 12, 2026
10 min read
Connecteam Alternative for Electrical Contractors: A Buyer's Guide Built Around the T&M Invoice

The invoice goes out. Two days later the GC's project manager calls: "What's this 8.77 hours on Thursday for?" Your foreman remembers. Nobody wrote it down.

If you're shopping for a Connecteam alternative for electrical contractors, that call is probably the reason. This guide compares Connecteam with QuickBooks Time, Clockify, a T&M-focused tracker, and a no-cost spreadsheet method on the one thing that decides T&M disputes: whether the crew's description of the work reaches the customer next to the hours. Every vendor fact below comes from that vendor's own pages, as of October 2026.

What Connecteam Is Built To Do

Connecteam is an all-in-one employee-management app. Time tracking is one part of it. Chat, scheduling, forms, courses, surveys and time off are the rest.

Per Connecteam's time clock page, as of October 2026, the time clock includes:

  • GPS location-verified clock-ins, live GPS breadcrumbs, and geofencing
  • Auto clock-out when a worker leaves the site
  • Time tracked by project, job, client, or equipment
  • Timesheets that workers confirm and managers then approve
  • Scheduling, plus a kiosk mode with a PIN or selfie
  • Export to PDF or XLS, or sync to a payroll provider
That page does not mention QuickBooks, and it does not say whether the app works offline.

Connecteam pricing as of October 2026

These figures come from Connecteam's pricing page as of October 2026. The lower number in each pair appears to be the yearly rate (the page toggle reads "Yearly save 18%"). Contract length is not stated.

Operations hub planFirst 30 users (yearly / monthly)Each extra user (yearly / monthly)Geofence sites
Small BusinessFree, up to 10 usersNot available past 10Not stated
Basic$29 / $35 per month$0.8 / $1.0Not stated
Advanced$49 / $59 per month$2.5 / $3.0Up to 10
Expert$99 / $119 per month$4.2 / $5.0Unlimited

There is a 14-day free trial with no credit card. The pricing page lists a generic "Payroll Integration" row and does not name QuickBooks.

Example arithmetic: a 15-person crew sits under the 30-user base, so Basic runs $29/month on the yearly rate. A 35-person crew on Basic yearly is $29 + (5 x $0.8) = $33/month. Run it with your own headcount and plan.

At $29-$35/month for up to 30 users on Basic, the subscription costs less than one disputed hour at a $95 bill rate. The question is whether its output answers the customer's call.

What an Electrical Sub Needs That Connecteam's Pages Don't Address

Connecteam's pages are written for managing an hourly workforce: who's on shift, who's late, who's approved. Electricians, contractors, and T&M billing don't appear on either page.

An electrical sub has a different job for the hours. They have to go on an invoice, and someone outside the company has to accept them.

That means you need four things the generic pages don't cover:

  1. A record of what got done, written by the person who did it, tied to the hours.
  2. A bill rate kept separate from labor cost, so the customer never sees what you pay your crew.
  3. Backup the customer can read: date, who, what, hours, rate, amount.
  4. A clear answer on where the hours go in QuickBooks Online, and whether they arrive tied to the right customer.
Connecteam may cover some of these through its forms or shift-notes features; its pages don't say how. Ask the vendor to show you the finished customer-facing report before you commit.

Connecteam Alternatives Electrical Contractors Compare

These are the options electrical subs most often put next to Connecteam. Each entry uses only that vendor's own pages as of October 2026. Prices are worked for a 15-person crew so you can compare them; swap in your own headcount.

QuickBooks Time (formerly TSheets). Intuit's time tracker, built to feed QuickBooks payroll and invoicing. Its pricing page lists Time Premium at $20/month base plus $10 per user, and Time Elite at $40/month base plus $12 per user, with the base price shown at 50% off for the first 3 months. Example arithmetic at 15 users, regular price: Premium is $20 + (15 x $10) = $170/month; Elite is $40 + (15 x $12) = $220/month. The page states a QuickBooks Online account is required, so add that subscription. The pricing page does not say whether a per-entry work note appears on a customer-facing report. Side-by-side detail: vs QuickBooks Time and vs TSheets. Clockify. A per-seat time tracker built for teams of any kind, with a free plan. Its pricing page lists Basic at $3.99, Standard at $5.49, Pro at $7.99, and Enterprise at $11.99 per seat per month on annual billing ($4.99, $6.99, $9.99, and $14.99 billed monthly). QuickBooks integration is marked on Standard and above; GPS tracking on Pro and above. Example arithmetic at 15 seats, annual billing: Standard is 15 x $5.49 = $82.35/month; Pro is 15 x $7.99 = $119.85/month. The free plan has no QuickBooks integration, and the page gives its user limit as both 4 and 5. The pricing page does not say whether a per-entry work note appears on a customer-facing report. Side-by-side detail: vs Clockify. FieldTimesheet. A time tracker built for electrical contractors billing T&M. It asks "What did you work on?" at clock-out and lets the worker reuse a recent note, then prints a customer billing packet with date, worker, the note, hours, and bill rate. Bill rate is set per job with an optional per-worker override, kept separate from the cost rate, and the packet does not show labor cost or margin. It sends time entries one way to QuickBooks Online when an admin clicks sync; today those entries arrive without the QuickBooks customer attached. It has no geofencing, scheduling, or chat. Per its pricing page, Starter is $39/month for up to 3 workers and Crew is $99/month for up to 10 workers plus $8 per additional worker (15 workers: $99 + (5 x $8) = $139/month), with a 14-day trial, no card, and no free plan. A paper-and-spreadsheet method. No vendor, no subscription. A paper timesheet with a "work performed" line, typed into a weekly spreadsheet, produces the same backup sheet shown later in this guide. It costs office time instead of money. The fixes for its weak points are in the section below.

For a broader roundup, see best time tracking apps for electricians.

Questions To Ask Any Connecteam Alternative

Here is the checklist run against Connecteam, QuickBooks Time, and Clockify. "Not stated" means the vendor's pages read for this guide are silent on it; ask the vendor to show you in a trial, not tell you.

QuestionConnecteam (per its pages)QuickBooks Time (per its pricing page)Clockify (per its pricing page)
Where does the worker type what they did?Time clock page mentions shift notes; where they appear is not statedNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Does that note appear on the customer-facing report, next to the hours?Not stated; exports are PDF or XLSNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Can I set a bill rate separate from what I pay?Not stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Can the customer report show labor cost or margin?Not stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Does it send hours to QuickBooks Online?QuickBooks not named; generic "Payroll Integration" rowIntuit product; QuickBooks Online account requiredQuickBooks integration on Standard and above
Do hours arrive in QuickBooks attached to the customer and job?Not stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Are note capture and the customer report on the base plan or a higher tier?Not stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Example cost, 15-person crew$29/month, Basic yearly$170/month Premium, plus QuickBooks Online$82.35/month Standard, annual

For the QuickBooks rows on any tool, confirm in a sandbox company that each TimeActivity shows the customer and job. If the customer field is blank, the hours aren't tied to who you're billing.

What To Test in Any Connecteam Alternative: Does the Crew Note Reach the Invoice?

A bare "8.77 hrs" loses because the customer can't check it. When they can't reconstruct the charge, they assume padding. When the work was actually done, the dispute is usually about the missing explanation, not the hours. Compare two example lines for the same day: "Thu, J. Ramirez, 8.77 hrs" against "Thu 7:02a-3:48p, J. Ramirez: pulled and terminated circuits 12-18, second-floor east wing." With the second line, the PM can walk to the east wing and check the circuits.

That second line is the crew's field note, and it is what to test in every trial, Connecteam included.

How do you get the crew to write it down?

Ask your crew one question at clock-out, "What did you work on?", accept a one-line answer, and let them reuse yesterday's note when the work hasn't changed. The shorter the prompt, the more likely it gets answered at 3:30 on a Friday. Aim for one line: task, plus a circuit, quantity, or location.

Your crew are not the problem. They're coming down a lift at 3:30 with a bag of fittings, and a five-field form is in the way. Read the notes daily until the vague ones stop, and fix each one the same day while the foreman remembers.

Too vague (example)Holds up on an invoice (example)
WiringRoughed in 14 receptacle boxes, units 204-206
Panel workSet and landed feeders, panel LP-2B, electrical room 1
Supply houseSupply house run for 3/4" EMT and fittings, change order #4 scope
TroubleshootingTraced open neutral on circuit 22, replaced failed splice in J-box above corridor ceiling

In a Connecteam trial, check whether a note like the right-hand column appears next to the hours on the exported PDF or XLS. In a QuickBooks Time or Clockify trial, run the same check on whatever report you would actually attach to an invoice.

What the backup sheet should look like

Put each crew note on a one-page labor backup sheet, one row per person per day with hours and bill rate, and attach it to the invoice.

DateWorkerTime on siteWork performed (crew note)HoursBill rate (example)Amount (example)
Example figures: 2 workers, bill rates $95 and $75/hr. Swap in your own rates and hours.
Thu 10/8J. Ramirez7:02a-3:48pPulled and terminated circuits 12-18, 2nd floor east wing8.77$95.00$833.15
Thu 10/8D. Okafor7:05a-3:30pSet and landed feeders, panel LP-2B8.42$75.00$631.50

Use the bill rate, never the cost rate, and keep labor cost and margin on a separate internal report. Treat GPS as "on site, verified" next to the note, not as the explanation; a location point shows the worker was there, not what they did. Whatever tool you trial, check that it can produce this page without anyone re-typing the notes. To see a filled-out packet with each section annotated, look at the sample billing packet. The step-by-step method, including a change-order log and a T&M work authorization, is in the T&M billing backup kit. For more on T&M paperwork, see T&M billing best practices.

Doing it without software

The spreadsheet method's weak point is the typing and the chasing. Three no-cost fixes:

  1. Have each worker text their one-line note to the office or a crew group thread at clock-out, so it is written down before they leave the site.
  2. Keep a carbon-copy daily field report pad in each truck, and have the foreman drop the copies in a box at the shop every Friday.
  3. Have one person enter that week's notes into the spreadsheet every Monday morning, before the invoice goes out, and send back any vague note the same day.
Software saves the re-typing, not the method.

When Connecteam Is the Right Choice

Connecteam is a reasonable pick if your main problem is managing people, not explaining invoices.

It fits a shop that:

  • Has 10 or fewer workers and wants the free plan
  • Needs scheduling, crew chat, and time off in one place
  • Bills mostly lump-sum or bid work, where nobody asks to see the hours
  • Wants geofencing and live location (Advanced and Expert plans list it)
It's a weaker fit if most of your disputes are about T&M charges. In that case, judge every option, Connecteam included, on one test: can you hand the customer a page that explains the hours without anyone re-typing it?

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Connecteam free for electrical contractors?

Connecteam's Small Business plan is free for up to 10 users, per its pricing page as of October 2026. Past 10 workers you move to a paid hub plan, starting at $29/month (yearly) or $35/month (monthly) for the first 30 users on the Operations hub Basic tier.

Does Connecteam sync with QuickBooks Online?

Connecteam's pricing and time clock pages, as of October 2026, do not name QuickBooks. The pricing page lists a generic "Payroll Integration" row. Ask Connecteam directly, and ask whether hours arrive in QuickBooks attached to the right customer and job.

Which Connecteam alternatives put the crew's note on the customer report?

The Connecteam, QuickBooks Time, and Clockify pages read for this guide don't state it either way. Test it in each trial: enter a one-line note, then export the report you would attach to an invoice and see whether the note sits next to the hours.

Do Connecteam alternatives keep labor cost off the customer backup?

Check each one. None of the Connecteam, QuickBooks Time, or Clockify pages read for this guide say whether a customer-facing report can show cost rate or margin. Whatever tool you use, build the backup from your bill rate and keep labor cost on a separate internal report. A note a PM can walk to and check gives them something to verify instead of something to argue.

Which Connecteam alternative costs least for a 15-person crew?

Using each vendor's pricing page as of October 2026, example arithmetic at 15 users: Connecteam Basic is $29/month (yearly), Clockify Standard is $82.35/month (annual), and QuickBooks Time Premium is $170/month plus a required QuickBooks Online subscription. Recheck the pages before you buy, since prices and promotions change.

Is GPS enough to prove the hours on a T&M invoice?

No. GPS shows a worker was on site at clock-in and clock-out. It doesn't say what they did. Use it as "on site, verified" next to the crew note, not as the explanation.

Do I need software to send billing backup with my invoices?

No. A paper timesheet with a "work performed" line and a weekly spreadsheet with date, worker, time on site, work performed, hours, bill rate, and amount does the job. Software saves the re-typing and the chasing, not the method.

Free — no signup

Hours your customer can follow

A record that reads 8.77 hrs survives payroll and loses an invoice dispute. One that reads Thu 7:02a–3:48p — pulled and terminated circuits 12–18, second-floor east wing ends the argument. Here is a full packet built that way — one sample job, annotated line by line, so you can see which element answers which question a customer asks.

Want blank forms to fill out instead? The free timesheet and T&M backup templates are laid out to capture that line in the field — print them, hand them to the crew, use them this week. The free calculator runs the arithmetic on your own numbers. No signup on either.

FieldTimesheet does the same job at clock-out and sends the hours to QuickBooks. Free for 14 days, no credit card.

Tips for Electrical Contractors

Short, practical emails on job costing, T&M billing, and QuickBooks — the same material as these guides. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.