Back to Blog
Comparisons

Housecall Pro Pricing for Electrical Contractors: What a 10 to 30 Person Crew Pays

Housecall Pro publishes three plans and an extra-seat price for MAX only. Here is the arithmetic for a real electrical crew size, the questions the pricing page leaves open, and a trial plan that tests whether your customer can read the hours on the invoice.

FieldTimesheet TeamProduct Team
October 20, 2026
10 min read
Housecall Pro Pricing for Electrical Contractors: What a 10 to 30 Person Crew Pays

You're pricing software because the office is drowning in texts, paper timesheets, and invoices that customers call about. Housecall Pro keeps coming up. So the question is simple: what does it cost for a crew your size, and does it fix the thing that actually costs you?

This guide works out Housecall Pro pricing for electrical contractors with real crew sizes, using the numbers on Housecall Pro's own pricing page as of October 20, 2026. Then it covers what the page doesn't tell you, and how to run the free trial so it tests your invoices, not just the demo.

Prices change. Check the live page before you sign anything, and treat every figure below as dated.

What Does Housecall Pro Cost in 2026?

Housecall Pro has three plans: Basic at $59/mo, Essentials at $149/mo, and MAX at $299/mo, all billed annually. Month-to-month runs $79, $189, and $329. Prices are in USD and don't include sales tax.

PlanAnnual billingMonthly billingUsers includedExtra user
Basic$59/mo$79/mo1Not stated on the page
Essentials$149/mo$189/mo5Not stated on the page
MAX$299/mo$329/mo8$35/mo per user
Source: housecallpro.com/pricing, US, Teams view, checked October 20, 2026.

Here's what each tier adds, in plain terms:

  • Basic: online booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoicing, payments and consumer financing, price book, job costing, review management.
  • Essentials: everything in Basic, plus routes, flat-rate pricing, checklist automations, photo reports, employee GPS tracking, commissions, and QuickBooks Online sync.
  • MAX: everything in Essentials, plus a sales proposal tool, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API and Zapier, dedicated onboarding, escalated phone support, and advanced custom reporting.
The page also shows intro promos: Basic and Essentials at $26/mo for one month, MAX at $99/mo for three months. Those are short. Budget at the regular rate, because that's what you'll pay in month four.

There's a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

What a 10, 20, or 30-Person Electrical Crew Pays

Example arithmetic, MAX on annual billing at $299/mo for 8 users plus $35/mo per extra user: 10 users is $369/mo, 20 users is $719/mo, and 30 users is $1,069/mo, before add-ons and payment processing.

MAX is the only plan where the page states a per-seat price, so it's the only plan you can fully price for a crew past eight people. Here is the example arithmetic with every input visible:

Example crew (users in the app)InputsMonthly (annual billing)Per year
10 users$299 + (2 extra x $35)$369$4,428
15 users$299 + (7 extra x $35)$544$6,528
20 users$299 + (12 extra x $35)$719$8,628
30 users$299 + (22 extra x $35)$1,069$12,828

Run it with your own head count. Count everyone who logs in: journeymen, apprentices, the foreman, the office, and you.

Two things can move these numbers:

  • Month-to-month billing. The MAX base goes to $329. The page doesn't say whether the $35 seat price changes on monthly billing. Ask.
  • Who needs a seat. If an apprentice only clocks in and out, ask whether that person needs a full paid user or not. The pricing page doesn't say.
The apprentice question can swing the total. Example arithmetic for a 20-person crew of 10 journeymen, 8 apprentices, 1 foreman and 1 office person on MAX annual: if apprentices need full seats, that's 20 users, so $299 + (12 x $35) = $719/mo. If they don't, that's 12 users, so $299 + (4 x $35) = $439/mo, plus whatever clock-only access costs for the 8 apprentices. Ask sales what that clock-only price is before you compare. Can a 10-person shop use Essentials instead? Essentials includes five users. The cost of users six through ten isn't published. Get that number in writing before you compare Essentials to MAX, or you're comparing a known price to a guess.

What the Pricing Page Leaves for You to Confirm

Six questions decide your real monthly cost and whether the tool fits, and the pricing page doesn't answer them. Ask sales or support each one, and keep the answers in an email.

QuestionWhat the page says (Oct 20, 2026)Why an electrician cares
Which plan includes time tracking?Not stated. The time tracking page says it's turned on from the Housecall Pro App Store inside your account.If hours are the reason you're buying, this is the first question.
Which plans sync hours to payroll?Hours sync to Housecall Pro Payroll "on select plans," not named.Decides whether you still re-key hours every week.
What does the QuickBooks sync send?Essentials lists "QuickBooks Online sync" and describes importing your QuickBooks data. The QuickBooks feature page lists invoices, customers, line items and payments. It doesn't say whether crew hours go across.Job costing in QuickBooks needs the hours on the right job.
What do add-ons cost?Payroll, Accounting, GPS/Dashcams, CSR AI, Voice, Websites and others are shown without prices.Your real total is the plan plus whatever you turn on.
What are the payment processing rates?The pricing FAQ says card processing starts at 2.59% and bank payments carry a 1% fee. Your rate is on your agreement.A percentage comes off every card-paid invoice. See the example below.
Can I export everything if I leave?Not covered in the pricing FAQ.Your job history and hours are your records, not the vendor's.

On processing, do the math on your own invoices. Example: at the published starting card rate of 2.59%, a $1,800 service invoice paid by card costs about $46.62 to collect. Example arithmetic: at 40 card-paid tickets of that size a month, 40 x $46.62 is about $1,865/mo. Swap in the rate on your agreement, your average ticket, and your ticket count.

Does an Electrical Contractor Need a Full Field-Service Suite?

Not necessarily: a suite like Housecall Pro earns its price if you book homeowners, dispatch trucks to service calls, and collect payment on site, but a sub billing GCs or property managers on T&M mostly needs clean hours and a record of what got done.

Housecall Pro is a field-service platform. Booking, dispatch, routes, price books, and on-site payments are the core of it, and for a residential service shop those are real value.

A commercial sub's day looks different. The GC sets the schedule. Nobody books you online. The invoice goes out from QuickBooks at the end of the week, backed by hours and a description of the work.

A full suite like Housecall Pro fits if...A narrower hours-and-notes setup fits if...
Most of your work is residential service callsMost of your work is commercial, GC-driven, or T&M
You dispatch several trucks a day and route mattersThe GC or the job schedule decides where the crew goes
Homeowners book online and pay on siteYou invoice from QuickBooks and get paid on terms
You want estimates, price book and flat-rate in one placeYou already bid from takeoffs in a spreadsheet or an electrical estimating program, and bill extras as T&M tickets against the GC's contract
You'll use recurring service plans and reviewsYou need hours tied to jobs plus a note the customer can read

Plenty of shops do both kinds of work. If service calls are a big share of your revenue, the suite may earn its price on that side alone. Price it for the work you actually do.

If you land in the right column, the narrower options include a paper or spreadsheet timesheet with a notes column, QuickBooks Time, and smaller hours-plus-note apps such as FieldTimesheet. Whichever you try, run it through the same trial plan and checklist below.

For side-by-sides of other tools, see how Jobber compares and how QuickBooks Time compares. The sister post on Jobber pricing for electrical contractors runs the same arithmetic for Jobber.

Can Your Customer Read the Hours on the Invoice?

Your customer can only read the hours on an invoice if each line pairs the time with a plain description of the work they can check, and that holds whatever software you buy. No price tag tells you that.

You know the call. The customer sees 31 hours on a T&M invoice and asks what they paid for. The work was real and the charge was fair. What was missing was the explanation.

Compare two lines for the same day:

  • Thu - 8.77 hrs
  • Thu 7:02a to 3:48p - pulled and terminated circuits 12-18, second-floor east wing
The customer can't check the first line against anything. The second they can check against the building: circuits 12-18 either got terminated in the east wing or they didn't. The crew's field note is the customer's explanation, and that's one mechanism, not two problems.

So when you evaluate Housecall Pro or anything else, ask two things:

  1. Does the tech write a note per job, in their own words, when they finish? Not a checkbox. A sentence about the work.
  2. What does the customer actually see? Can you hand them a page with date, who, what was done, hours, and bill rate, without your labor cost or margin on it?
That second point matters more than it sounds. Your cost rate (what you pay the electrician) and your bill rate (what you charge) are different numbers. Any report you send a customer should show only the bill rate. Ask the vendor to show you a customer-facing document and check it for cost fields.

You can see what a finished, customer-safe page looks like in this ungated sample billing packet. It's a useful yardstick for any tool's output.

How Do You Get the Crew to Write Anything Down?

Make the note one sentence, ask for it at clock-out, and show the crew that the note is what protects their work when a customer pushes back. That's the whole method, and it works on paper as well as on a phone.

Give them a format instead of a blank box:

What + where + how far. For example:
  • "Pulled wire, panel B to units 4-6, done except terminations."
  • "Replaced 200A main breaker, tested, energized, customer signed off."
  • "Trenched and set conduit, 60 ft, east lot light pole 3. Waiting on inspection."
Tape that format inside the truck door or on the timesheet header. Then try it for two weeks: read one note aloud at the Monday meeting and compare how many entries have a usable note before and after.

If you're doing this on paper today, keep doing it until the software proves it does better. The T&M billing best practices guide covers the backup a customer expects on each invoice.

How to Run the 14-Day Trial So It Tests Your Invoices

Use the trial on one real job, start to finish, and judge the tool by the invoice backup it produces, not by the demo. Fourteen days is enough if you plan it.

  1. Day 1: Set up two or three real jobs and add the techs on them. Write down how many paid seats that took, and whether apprentices needed full seats.
  2. Day 1: Ask support the six questions from the table above. Get answers in writing.
  3. Days 2 to 10: Have the crew clock in and out on real work and write a note per job using the what + where + how far format. Log at least one change-order or extra-work ticket on a GC job, kept apart from the base-contract hours.
  4. Day 11: Pull the hours for that change-order ticket. Would that page alone get the GC's PM to sign off without a phone call? Does it show any cost rate or labor cost?
  5. Day 12: If you're on a plan with QuickBooks Online sync, run it. Open QuickBooks and check what arrived: invoices only, or hours on the right customer and job?
  6. Day 13: Export your data. Open the file. Make sure you'd have your records if you left.
  7. Day 14: Price it with your real seat count and the add-ons you turned on, at the regular rate, not the promo.
If step 4 or step 5 fails, the feature list doesn't matter for T&M work.

A Buyer's Checklist You Can Copy

Paste this into an email to any vendor you're considering, Housecall Pro included.

CheckAnswer
Total monthly cost for ___ users, on annual and on monthly billing
Price per extra user on the plan I'd use
Do apprentices who only clock in and out need a full paid seat?
Which plan includes time tracking
Add-ons I'd need and their prices
Card and bank processing rates
Can each tech write a free-text note per job at clock-out?
Can hours be tagged by phase (rough-in, trim, service, change order) on the same job?
Can a note reference a panel, circuit, or drawing sheet the GC can check against the plans?
Can T&M extra-work hours be kept apart from base-contract hours on the same job?
Can I print or send a customer page with no cost rate, labor cost, or margin?
What exactly reaches QuickBooks Online: hours, invoices, customers, or all three?
Is the QuickBooks sync automatic or manual, and in which direction?
Contract length and cancellation terms
Full data export (CSV or PDF) on cancellation?

The answers you get back will tell you more than any comparison chart, including this one.

FAQ

How much does Housecall Pro cost for an electrical contractor?

As of October 20, 2026, Basic is $59/mo, Essentials $149/mo, and MAX $299/mo on annual billing ($79, $189, and $329 month-to-month). Example: a 20-user crew on MAX with annual billing pays $299 + (12 x $35) = $719/mo before add-ons and processing.

How much is an extra user on Housecall Pro?

The pricing page lists $35/mo per additional user on MAX, which includes eight users. It doesn't state the extra-user price for Basic (one user) or Essentials (five users), so ask before you compare plans.

Which Housecall Pro plan includes QuickBooks Online sync?

QuickBooks Online sync is listed starting at Essentials. The plan text describes importing your QuickBooks data, and the QuickBooks feature page lists invoices, customers, line items and payments. Confirm whether crew hours sync too.

Which Housecall Pro plan includes time tracking?

The pricing page doesn't say. Housecall Pro's time tracking page says it's enabled from the Housecall Pro App Store inside your account, and that hours sync to Housecall Pro Payroll on select plans. Confirm the plan with sales before you buy.

Does Housecall Pro have a free trial?

Yes. The pricing page lists a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. Use it on one real job, including one change-order ticket, and check the invoice backup it produces.

Is Housecall Pro worth it for a commercial electrical sub?

It depends on how much of your work is residential service. A shop that books homeowners and dispatches trucks will use most of the suite. A commercial sub billing GCs on T&M mostly needs hours tied to jobs plus a note the customer can read, and may pay for features it won't use.

Do Housecall Pro prices include sales tax?

No. The pricing page lists prices in USD, exclusive of sales tax. Add your local rate when you budget.

What should a T&M invoice show so the customer doesn't dispute it?

Each line should show the date, who worked, start and end time, a plain description of the work, hours, and bill rate. Leave off your labor cost and margin. See the sample billing packet for a finished example.

Free — no signup

Hours your customer can follow

A record that reads 8.77 hrs survives payroll and loses an invoice dispute. One that reads Thu 7:02a–3:48p — pulled and terminated circuits 12–18, second-floor east wing ends the argument. Here is a full packet built that way — one sample job, annotated line by line, so you can see which element answers which question a customer asks.

Want blank forms to fill out instead? The free timesheet and T&M backup templates are laid out to capture that line in the field — print them, hand them to the crew, use them this week. The free calculator runs the arithmetic on your own numbers. No signup on either.

FieldTimesheet does the same job at clock-out and sends the hours to QuickBooks. Free for 14 days, no credit card.

Tips for Electrical Contractors

Short, practical emails on job costing, T&M billing, and QuickBooks — the same material as these guides. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.